Sign up to newsletter

KCR Pet Transport Maturity Classic 2023 – The Meadows

MGRA Maturity Classic 2023

Classic Winter Group 1 action returns to The Meadows Saturday July 22

2023 marks the 53rd running of the KCR Pet Transport Group 1 Maturity Classic. To celebrate this big race event The Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association invites all racing friends and families to join us at The Meadows for what will be an exciting night of feature racing and entertainment as we crown the next Maturity Classic winner!

Our grand Temlee Dining Room, located on level one and the home the all new City View Bistro will be hosting a special Group 1 dining occasion. Guests can book a table for the night and and enjoy a superb two course (main and dessert) City View Bistro inspired dinner with beverages (beer, wine and soft drink) for only $60 per person ($40 for guests who would prefer non-alcoholic beverages and $20 for children).

It’s all about giving everyone the opportunity to dine, cheer and party at The Melbourne Greyhounds. Reservations are essential, so start preparing a table of friends now. Please use our online booking form to complete your reservation. Last year was very popular, so don’t delay in making a booking.




Maturity Classic 2022 - Wow She

The History of the Maturity Classic

The Maturity Classic was first held in 1970 at Olympic Park with a first prizemoney of $1,250 before incremental prizemoney increases had the Maturity Classic worth $30,000 at the turn of the century.

Of the 52 winners, only 8 female greyhounds have won: Warrenwood Girl (’75), Overflow Love (’77), Coriole (’99), Shereen Bale (’11), Mepunga Hayley (’14), Dyna Patty (’18), Qwara Bale (’21) and last year’s winner Wow She’s Fast (’22).

Some of the most famous winners and most noted start with Temlee (74), Satan’s Legend (78), Pharaoh’s Mask (86), New Tears (87), Hay Dinney (88), Best Of Blue (89), Eureka Man (90), Northern Legend (95), Brett Lee (2001), Hallucinate (2004), El Grand Senor (2010) Shereen Bale (2011),  Barcia Bale (2012) Marcus Joe (2013), Fernando Bale (2015) and recent greats, Sennachie (2019), Simon Told Helen (2020) and Wow She’s Fast (’22).

Honour Roll:

2012 Barcia Bale
2013 Marcus Joe
2014 Mepunga Hayley
2015 Fernando Bale
2016 Kilty Express
2017 Mepunga Blazer
2018 Dyna Patty
2019 Sennachie
2020 Simon Told Helen
2021 Qwara Bale
2022 Wow She’s Fast

View the full hour roll here

See you at The Maturity Classic July 22

MGRA and The Meadows team look forward to seeing many familiar and new faces at what should be a thrilling night of racing and entertainment.

Any enquires about the evening can be directed to The Meadows by calling on (03) 9355 5222 or sending an email to