Sign up to newsletter

Sky Racing Topgun 2017

The $150,000 Group 1 Topgun (525m) is an invitational sprint event held at The Meadows in late October each year, on the night of thoroughbred racing’s W.S. Cox Plate. In 2015 the Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association also introduced the Topgun Stayers (725m), a Group 2 invitational held on the same night.


The Topgun was first run in 1993 at Sandown Park, when a famous dead-heat occurred between Golden Currency and Worth Backing. The event was shared between the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club and the Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association in its first 13 years, however it has been held at the MGRA (The Meadows) permanently since 2007. Many great champions have won the Topgun including New Fox (1994), Rapid Journey (1998), Bombastic Shiraz (2003), Whisky Assassin (2004), Meticulous (2007), Cindeen Shelby (2009), El Grand Senor (2010) and Fernando Bale (2015).


2016 Dundee Osprey

2015 Fernando Bale

2014 Buckle Up Wes

2013 Dyna Nalin

2012 David Bale

2011 Allen Harper

2010 El Grand Seno

WATCH: Dundee Osprey (8) overcomes the wet conditions and front-running stars Aston Bolero (2) and Pantera Nera (1) to claim the 2016 Sky Racing Topgun.