Sign up to newsletter
X

Track specialist aces rivals in Gr8 style


Weblec Ace improved his already exceptional record at The Meadows in the last of the scheduled Gr8 Eight events, which have run throughout May and June.

The Jeff Britton-trained greyhound has now started seven times at The Meadows for six wins – all over 525m – giving him a winning strike rate at the track of 86 per cent.

A son of Kinloch Brae and Weblec Rose, Weblec Ace took full advantage of Box 8, clocking a Best of Night 29.76sec and holding off talented trio Christo Bale, Australian Cup winner Fernando’s Riot and Avalanche.

His only defeat at the track was in a heat of the G1 Maturity Classic almost 12 months ago when running 3rd to Tauwitchere.

Winner of last year’s G3 Cranbourne Classic, Weblec Ace joins Mister Harlewood, Weblec Haze and True Detective to win a Gr8 Eight event for Britton.

WATCH: Weblec Ace (8) defeats Christo Bale (4), Fernando’s Riot (1) and Avalanche (6) in 29.76sec (Best), shaving half a length off his previous PB. He has now won six from seven at The Meadows and 14 from 30 overall.

GR8 EIGHT CALENDAR
Thursday 7 May:
Sandown Park (715m)                   Winner: MISTER HARLEWOOD
Thursday 14 May: Sandown Park (595m)                 Winner: ROCKSTAR BEAV
Thursday 28 May: Sandown Park (515m)                 Winner: SIMON TOLD HELEN
Saturday 30 May: The Meadows (600m)                   Winner: WEBLEC HAZE
Thursday 4 June: Sandown Park (595m)                   Winner: LAST HURRAH
Saturday 6 June: The Meadows (525m)                      Winner: SIMON TOLD HELEN
Thursday 11 June: Sandown Park (715m)                   Winner: BLAZING CARTIER
Saturday 13 June: The Meadows (600m)                     Winner: LAST HURRAH
Thursday 18 June: Sandown Park (515m)                    Not run due to insufficient noms 
Saturday 20 June: The Meadows (725m)                     Winner: TRUE DETECTIVE
Thursday 25 June: Sandown Park (595m)                    Winner : LAST HURRAH 
Saturday 27 June: The Meadows  (525m)                     Winner: WEBLEC ACE

GR8 EIGHT PRIZE MONEY
1st – $10,500; 2nd $3,000; 3rd $1,500
Total: $15,000.

Watchdog_App_Greyhound_Racing_00_club

Watch every Victorian greyhound race LIVE and FREE with The Watchdog app, or follow ‘Watchdog Racing’ on Twitter or Facebook.

Related Posts