Sign up to newsletter

2015 Topgun fields announced!

Newly-crowned million-dollar chaser Fernando Bale headlines a star-studded group of greyhounds who will line up in the year’s $215,000 Group 1 Sky Racing Topgun over 525 metres at The Meadows on October 24.
The Andrea Dailly-trained star will start a short-priced favourite to win his eighth Group 1 race of the year and second at The Meadows after another devastating display to take out the Adelaide Cup last week.
To showcase the quality of this year’s Group 1 Sky Racing Topgun, the eight finalists have combined for a total of over $2.8 million in prizemoney.

Along with champion Fernando Bale, the Dailly camp also have Meadows specialist Dyna Double One in the Topgun final – a greyhound with six sub-29.60 gallops at the Broadmeadows circuit. He is one of three 2015 Topgun finalists for the Wheeler family, who will also cheer home four-time Group winner Lamia Bale, trained by Steven Collins.
New South Wales is represented by three quality chasers, including Group 1 Peter Mosman winner Bessy Boo, Group 1 Dapto Megastars winner Fantastic Spiral and dual Group 2 winner Brad Hill Billy, with one of the trio looking to become the first NSW-trained chaser to win the Group 1 Topgun since Placard back in 2000.
Keybow – now in the capable hands of Queenslander Tony Brett – has made his second Topgun final after finishing sixth behind Buckle Up Wes in last year’s version. Connections have announced that the October 24 Topgun will be the black chaser’s last official race start.

The youngest chaser in the star-studded field is Kayda Shae, a greyhound who has already competed in five Group finals from just 22 career starts.


Sweet It Is aims for seventh Group 1 win

The brilliant Sweet It Is will be the greyhound to beat in the inaugural running of the $110,000 Group 2 Stayers Topgun after an impressive return to the racetrack last Saturday night at The Meadows.
The daughter of Mogambo and Off Springer will be aiming for her seventh Group 1 victory, going to into the race on a five-race winning streak.

Her main rivals appear to be the race’s other female sprinters, including staying star Lady Toy and the classy Dzeko, who defeated Sweet It Is in the Group 3 Lizrene back in May.

October 24′s winner will take home a winner’s cheque worth $75,000.

The box draws for the Group 1 Sky Racing Topgun and the Group 2 Sky Racing Stayers Topgun will be held at The Meadows this Saturday night (October 17)!

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Periscope to get all the latest update for both races, as we count down to one of the most highly-anticipated nights on the calendar.


Group 1 Sky Racing TOPGUN (525m) (Not in box draw order)

1. Bessy Boo – Christine Proctor

2. Brad Hilly Billy  – Ray Smith

3. Dyna Double One – Andrea Dailly

4. Fantastic Spiral – Jason Fletcher

5. Fernando Bale – Andrea Dailly

6. Kayda Shae – Kelly Bravo

7. Keybow – Tony Brett

8. Lamia Bale – Steven Collins


9. Secret Spell – Kelly Bravo

10. Ronray Spirit – Terrence Reid


Group 2 Sky Racing Stayers TOPGUN (725m) (Not in box draw order)
1. Ada Mary* – Sharon Grey
2. Dzeko – Angela Jackson
3. Mepunga Tiara – Jeff Britton
4. Lady Toy – Norma Gost
5. Lithgow Panther – Robert Britton
6. Seeking Justice – Jim Auld
7. Shanlyn Lucy – Amy Lauterboom
8. Sweet It Is – Braden Finn

9. Luna Jinx – Gavin Harris
10. Beks – Pat Bouchier


*Ada Mary was given a late invite after her Group 3 Sydney Cup victory on the weekend.

Related Posts