Sign up to newsletter

First round invites sent out for Sprint and Stayers Topgun

Thirty-seven of the country’s best greyhounds have been handed first round nominations for either the Group 1 Sky Racing Topgun or the Group 2 Sky Racing Stayers Topgun, with both races to be run at The Meadows on October 24.

The Topgun panel will then meet on Sunday, October 11, to cut both fields down to eight from the list of trainers who accept first round invitations sent out yesterday.

The final field will then be announced on Sky Racing 2’s The Catching Pen on Tuesday, October 13, at 6.30pm.
MGRA Manager Marg Long said that having two Topguns on the same night will create huge interest across the industry.

“To have the best of the best battling it out over the 525-metre and 725-metre starts in something I’m sure many greyhound fans are looking forward to . The TOPGUN panel this year face the task of selecting 16 greyhounds from the list of acceptances, which will be returned before Wednesday, October 7.”

Of the 37 first-round nominations, Victoria is best represented with 21 greyhounds, including Fernando Bale (pictured), who has won all of his nine Group finals this year. He is one of four greyhounds given an invite from the Andrea Dailly kennel.
The Group 1 Sky Racing Topgun will be worth $150,000 to the winner (the richest invitation-only race in Australia), while the Group 2 Sky Racing Stayers Topgun holds a $75,000 winner’s purse.

The box draw for both races – once the finalists for both races are announced – will take place on track at The Meadows on October 17.


First round invites for G1 Topgun (525m)
Angie Rocks    VIC
Bessy Boo     NSW
Blazin’ Bomber    VIC
Brad Hill Billy    NSW
Dyna Double One    VIC
Elfen Bale    VIC
Emrys        VIC
Fabulous Storm    QLD
Fantastic Dotty    NSW
Fantastic SpiralNSW
Fernando Bale    VIC
Fever Pitch    VIC
Flash Reality    QLD
Kayda Shae    VIC
Keybow        QLD
Lamia Bale    VIC
Margins        VIC
Ronray Spirit    VIC
Secret Spell    VIC
Smart Missile    NSW
Uno Suzie    NSW


First round invites for G2 Stayers Topgun (725m)
Beks        VIC
Dzeko        VIC
Grifter Bale    SA
Lady Toy    VIC
Laugh With Mary   NSW
Lithgow Panther    NSW
Love Affair    VIC
Luna Jinx    SA
Mepunga Tiara    VIC
Mullaway    QLD
Psychotic Gold    SA
Seeking Justice    VIC
Shanlyn Lucy    VIC
Star Recall    WA
Sweet It Is    VIC
Zipping Maggie    NSW


The Meadows appreciates the support of this year’s TOPGUN panel, including Chairman Marg Long (non-voting), GRV Representative Andrew Mills (Chief Grader), Eddie Caruana (Representative of The Meadows), Ron Hawkswell (RSN & Sky Channel), Steve Hawkins (QLD Media Rep), Gerard Guthrie (NSW Greyhound Recorder & Media Rep), Nadia Horne (RSN Presenter) and Mark Duclos (Sky Channel Host). 


Please note: With upcoming Group races to be run and won, the club reserves the right to extend late invitations to greyhounds in the lead up to the announcement of the final fields.

Related Posts