Sign up to newsletter

Australian Cup and Superstayers Fields Decided

WA sprinter Quartz Bale stunned punters when winning a heat of the Australian Cup at the big odds of $13.60 at The Meadows on Saturday night.

The Paul Stuart-trained sprinter won like an odds-on favourite, clocking the time of 29.602sec (best), which was comfortably the fastest of the eight heat winners.

Earlier in the night, buzz stayer Space Star showed his supremacy by breaking Nellie Noodles’ long-standing track record over the 725m.

Contesting a heat of the Group 1 Superstayers, Space Star ran 41.933sec, shaving a length and a half off the record.

The finals of the Australian Cup and Superstayers will be run this Saturday night, 7 March at The Meadows.

2015 Australian Cup Final
1. Sisco Rage (John Galea, Lara)
2. Hostile (Darren Beasley, Footscray West)
3. Quartz Bale (Paul Stuart, Nambeelup WA)
4. Luca Neveelk (Gerald Kleeven, Denison)
5. Emrys (Mario Briganti, Tuerong)
6. Recruitment (Deborah Coleman, Lara)
7. Samus Allen (Jenny Hunt, Lara)
8. Lamia Bale (Steve Collins, Lara)
9. Kerrigan Bale (Andrea Dailly, Anakie)
10. Fernando Bale (Andrea Dailly, Anakie)

2015 Superstayers Final
1. Lady Toy (Brooke Ennis, Lara)
2. Berry Blitz­­ (Angela Langton, Anakie)
3. Blinker’s On (Brooke Ennis, Lara)
4. Echelonic Action (Deborah Coleman, Lara)
5. Luna Jinx (Len Ketelaar, Yuroke)
6. Space Star (Robert Britton, Lara)
7. Nicki Fields (Gerard O’Keefe, Neerim Junction)
8. Beks (Pat Bouchier, Dennington)
9. Zipping Felix (Peter Dapiran, Northwood)
10. Mepunga Hayley (Jeff Britton, Anakie)

Australian Cup Heat Replays:

Watch: Recruitment (1) wins in 29.906sec

Watch: Lamia Bale (4) wins in 29.775sec

Watch: Quartz Bale (5) wins in 29.602sec

Watch: Sisco Rage (3) wins in 29.886sec

Watch: Hostile (7) wins in 29.951sec

Watch: Samus Allen (2) wins in 29.844sec

Watch: Luca Neveelk (3) wins in 29.984sec

Watch: Emrys (6) wins in 30.056sec.

Superstayers Heat Replays

Watch: Space Star wins in a track record 41.933sec

Watch: Lady Toy (1) win in 42.582sec

Watch: Nicki Fields (1) defeats Blinker’s On (2) in 42.912sec

Watch: Luna Jinx (6) defeats Echelonic Action (2) in 42.932sec

Related Posts